Board & Staff



The Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisors are elected by registered voters in Jefferson County and serve without compensation. Board member terms are for a period of four years. 


Kedrick Stanfield
Chair (term 2017-2020)
Ked joined the Board of Supervisors in May 2017. Kedrick is the Executive Director for Louisville Grows and resides in the Beechmont neighborhood. When asked why he joined the board, Ked stated, “As a majority urban environment, there aren’t a lot of services provided to our remaining traditional farmers and expanding class of urban farmers. The SWCD seeks to provide these services to farms big or small that are working to make our County a more sustainable place to live and work. The SWCD supports much needed food education programs at schools and sponsors tree plantings and seedling giveaways, two important aspects to spreading education and outreach in sustainable living in Jefferson County. I feel getting involved in the board was a way for me to get involved in my community and help to make it a more sustainable place.”
Jennifer Chappell
Vice-Chair (term 2017-2020)
Jennifer joined the board of Supervisors in January 2017. Jennifer works in marketing and advertising and runs a non-profit called Three Points. Jennifer also serves on the board for the Center for Neighborhoods and the Schnitzelburg Area Community Council.
In Jennifer’s term as SWCD Supervisor, she hopes to spread awareness of the board and it’s programs and services while promoting effective, responsible land use practices. Jefferson County needs urban representation to help understand and address the problems that our metropolitan environment faces now and in the future. Jennifer is one of those people.
David W. Kaelin
Treasurer/Secretary (term 2019-2022)
David owns and operates a 58-acre farm in the Jeffersontown area (Floyds Fork watershed). David’s interests are supporting environmental education programs for school children and teachers and promoting Best Management Practices on agricultural land that addresses and improves water quality.

Mike Farmer
Supervisor (term 2017-2020)

Mike was elected to serve a four-year term in November 2012 general election. Mike served as Chair for the board from 2019-2020. He resides in the Fisherville area (Floyds Fork watershed). He served as former board member of Floyds Fork Environmental Association (FFEA) and Fisherville Area Neighborhood Association (FANA). His interests are to help improve subdivision guidelines to maintain our rural and agricultural character by keeping our soil, water and related natural resources in the forefront of all development conversations.


Calvin Shake
Supervisor (term 2017-2020)
Calvin was originally elected to the board in November 2012. Calvin owns and manages several agricultural operations in the Floyds Fork watershed. He currently serves on the Jefferson County Farm Bureau board and is a former member of the Jefferson County Agriculture Development Council. Calvin produces corn, soybeans, hay and also has a beef cattle operation.
Calvin has an interest in helping landowners find opportunities to maintain the family farms in Jefferson County. He believes that supporting locally grown crops is vital to sustaining our economy.
Jasmine Gatti
Supervisor (term 2019-2022)
Jasmine joined the board of Supervisors in January 2019. She was elected in the general election, November 2018.
It’s important to Jasmine that we know what happens to our soil and water and what we are doing to contribute both good and bad. “We only have one Earth we need to make sure it survives and thrives. My reason for joining the board is to make sure we protect and enhance our water quality throughout Kentucky through storm water management, land conservation, with support to citizens and organizations, and conservation education and outreach activities.”
Rebecca Trueman 
Supervisor (term 2019-2022)
Becca grew up on a small beef farm in Connecticut where her passion for agriculture and the environment originated, leading her to pursue higher education and a career in natural resources and environmental protection. Before moving to Louisville she received her masters at the University of Rhode Island and worked as a soil conservationist for the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service. Currently she is a watershed coordinator for the Oldham County Fiscal Court. This is a challenging position in which she coordinates the implementation of a watershed plan for the Currys Fork Watershed. Most streams within this watershed do not support swimming, recreation, and healthy habitat for fish and wildlife; these issues are accentuated in Louisville where streams have been hidden by urban infrastructure. Becca joined the Board in February 2019. She is honored to be part of the SWCD and her goal as a Supervisor is help address resource concerns in Jefferson County by collaborating with citizens, community leaders, agency officials, and environmental advocates.


Lilias Pettit-Scott
Urban Agriculture Specialist
Lilias is the conservation district’s Urban Agriculture Specialist. She is working to connect residents of Jefferson County to urban agriculture and local food production by helping them understand their soil resources and to manage those resources for regenerative production. Lilias sees gardening education as a means to reconnect urban residents to agricultural practices, rural communities and the importance of Kentucky’s farmland and family farmers. She resides in the Schnitzelburg neighborhood where she is building a homestead and tends an apiary with her partner.
Erin James
Environmental Educator
Erin joined the SWCD staff in January 2020. 


Advisors & Others


Raymond Adams, Sr.  
Ray served the Board of Supervisors from January 2003 to December 2018. Ray lives in the Lyndon area (Middle Fork Beargrass Creek watershed). He is a former employee of the Ky. Division of Conservation.
During his 28 year career, he assisted sixteen different conservation districts and three watershed conservancy districts. His interests are in expanding community outreach programs, promoting environmental education and increasing the awareness and visibility of conservation districts.
Ward Wilson
Ward served as a district supervisor from January 1997 through December 2008 and held the office of Chair for a majority of those years. Ward resides in the St. Matthews area (Muddy Fork Beargrass Creek watershed). Ward is the Executive Director of the Kentucky Waterways Alliance and brings an interest in watershed management to the board while serving in an advisory capacity.
Kurt Mason
Kurt retired in 2020 from as the Urban Conservationist with the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service. He served the Louisville Field Office since November 1980. Kurt was responsible for managing the operations and programs of the USDA-NRCS by providing professional service and technical assistance to private landowners, governmental entities and local organizations within the boundaries of the Jefferson, Oldham and Bullitt County Conservation Districts.

Kimberly Bartley
Field Representative
Kimberly is a Field Representative with the Kentucky Division of Conservation; where she has been employed for 11 years. Kimberly serves as an advisor to conservation district boards in 13 central Kentucky counties giving consultation on legislative, fiscal and other related conservation issues. She is also responsible for providing daily assistance, as needed, to the Administrative Secretaries in all 13 soil and water conservation district offices.